Women’s Basketball Scholarship Endowment Recipients Announced – Illinois State University Athletics – Illinois State Athletics - Techy Hunters


Tuesday, July 27, 2021

Women’s Basketball Scholarship Endowment Recipients Announced – Illinois State University Athletics – Illinois State Athletics

NORMAL, Ill. – Each year, deserving Illinois State women’s basketball student-athletes are chosen as recipients for prestigious endowed scholarships at Illinois State University. This year, four outstanding Redbirds were selected for these honors by head coach Kristen Gillespie.

The 2020-21 winners of the four endowed scholarships dedicated to women’s basketball include rising seniors Kayel Newland and Lexy Koudelka, redshirt junior Mary Crompton and junior Hannah Kelle.

“Kayel, Lexy, Mary, and Hannah all embody what it means to be a Redbird and everything you want in your program,” said Gillespie. “Their dedication both in the classroom and on the court is unmatched. Each are leaders and role models to their teammates, and we could not be prouder of them. They are very deserving of these endowed scholarships, and I look forward to their continued success.”

Jill Hutchison Endowed Scholarship // Mary Crompton, R-Jr., G, Iowa City, Iowa
The reigning MVC Most Improved Player, Crompton also earned an All-MVC Honorable Mention nod during the 2020-21 season while finishing third in the country in three-point field goal percentage, shooting 46.7% (64-of-137) from deep. The Iowa City, Iowa native started in all 24 games, averaging 11.1 points and leading the MVC with 2.7 threes made per game to set a new ISU sophomore single-season three-point record with 64 treys.

The Jill Hutchison scholarship was established in 1999, when the Redbird coaching legend retired from the women’s basketball post. The award honoring the winningest coach in Illinois State history is given to a women’s basketball student-athlete.

Robert and Laura Garrett Endowed Scholarship // Kayel Newland, Sr., G, Kansas City, Mo.
Newland played in 23 of 24 games during the 2020-21 season, putting up a season-high nine points vs. Drake on Feb. 20 when she went 3-of-3 from behind the arc. The Kansas City, Mo. native shot 42.5% from the floor, totaling 40 points, 25 rebounds, 10 assists, six steals, and one block during her junior campaign.

The Garrett scholarship was established in 2008 by Robert and Laura Garrett. The scholarship is for women’s basketball and volleyball, long-time loves of both Bob and Laura. The scholarship is awarded annually to a member of the women’s basketball or volleyball team.

Rev. Dr. Joanne Peppard-Cooke Endowed Scholarship // Hannah Kelle, Jr., F, Lincoln, Neb.
Kelle did not play due to injury in 2020-21 and is set to make her return this upcoming year. The Lincoln, Neb. native appeared in 15 games during her 2019-20 freshman campaign, playing a season-high 15 minutes versus Evansville (Jan. 5) and scoring four points against Western Illinois on Dec. 4.

The Cooke scholarship was established by Dr. Cooke in 2006. The purpose of the scholarship is to provide support for a member of the women’s basketball team. “Pep” created this scholarship to express her support of education and athletics. As a recipient of a scholarship herself, “Pep” was aware of the difference such can make in the life of a student. The scholarship is awarded annually to a member of the women’s basketball team.

Bob & Audrey Weber Endowed Scholarship // Lexy Koudelka, Sr., F, Nevada, Iowa
Koudelka played in all 24 games, getting the start in 14 and averaging 4.3 points and 2.5 rebounds per contest during the 2020-21 season. The Nevada, Iowa native led the team in field goal percentage, shooting 57.5% from the floor on the year and had a season-high in points (13) and rebounds (8) at Southern Illinois on Feb. 26.

The Weber scholarship was established in 2006 by Bob Weber in honor of his late wife Audrey, longtime Redbird fans and supporters. The Webers became men’s basketball season ticket holders in 1974, football season ticket holders in the mid-1980’s and became women’s basketball season ticket holders in 2003. The scholarship is awarded annually to a member of the men’s or women’s basketball team.

These endowed scholarships are among the more than 30 available to Illinois State student-athletes that are funded by private donors. For more information about establishing or contributing to an endowed scholarship

For all latest on Illinois State women’s basketball, stay tuned at GoRedbirds.com and follow the team at @RedbirdWBB (Twitter, Facebook, Instagram).

GoRedbirds.com and the Illinois State Redbirds App:  Your sources for Illinois State tickets, Weisbecker Scholarship Fund gifts, multimedia, Redbird merchandise, photos and more.

Print Friendly Version

from WordPress https://ift.tt/2TC557u

No comments:

Post a Comment