Mountain West Women’s Basketball Schedule Released – University of New Mexico Lobos athletics – University of New Mexico Lobos athletics - Techy Hunters

Breaking

Saturday, August 14, 2021

Mountain West Women’s Basketball Schedule Released – University of New Mexico Lobos athletics – University of New Mexico Lobos athletics

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M.— The University of New Mexico Lobo women’s basketball team will open Mountain West competition at home on Tuesday, Dec. 28 against San José State, the start of an 18-game conference schedule that was released by the conference on Friday.

Entering as the reigning regular season champions, the Lobos will have single games against Air Force and at Nevada in February, but home-and-home with the other schools in the conference.

Of note in the conference schedule, the Lobos will have a three-game homestand at the beginning of February with Colorado State (Feb. 2), Wyoming (Feb. 5) and Air Force (Feb. 9), as part of five home games in February with Utah State (Feb. 16) and Boise State (Feb. 19).

Last season, the Lobos went 15-5 overall, 11-3 in conference to win their first outright MW regular season championship and the first MW championship since the 2004-05 season.

The Lobos return a strong core from the 2020-21 season, including MW Sixth Person of the Year LaTasyca Duff and All-MW recipients Shaiquel McGruder, Jaedyn De La Cerda, Antonia Anderson and Duff.

UNM also returns almost all of its starters from a year ago with LaTora Duff, De La Cerda, Anderson and McGruder, while Kath van Bennekom saw key minutes in her atypical freshman season. Nevaeh Parkinson enters her sophomore season as well, with the ability to post up inside or shoot from range. In total, the Lobos return their top two scorers from a season ago in LaTasyca Duff and De La Cerda, and three players who averaged over 10 points a game, as well as their top three rebounders.

In addition, the incoming class of freshmen offer depth across the positions, with Californians Mackenzie Curtis and Aniyah Augmon and Albuquerque native Viané Cumber at the guard position and Rebeka Renczes (Hungary), Zeyno Işıl Şeren (Turkey) and Paula Reus (Spain) bringing international experience to the roster.

UNM MW Schedule
Tuesday, December 28                  vs. San José State
Friday, December 31                      at Boise State
Monday, January 3                         vs. UNLV
Thursday, January 6                       at Utah State
Sunday, January 9                           vs. San Diego State
Thursday, January 13                     at Wyoming
Saturday, January 15                      at Colorado State
Saturday, January 22                     vs. Fresno State
Thursday, January 27                     at UNLV
Saturday, January 29                     at San Diego State
Wednesday, February 2                 vs. Colorado State
Saturday, February 5                      vs. Wyoming
Wednesday, February 9                 vs. Air Force
Saturday, February 12                    at Nevada
Wednesday, February 16               vs. Utah State
Saturday, February 19                    vs. Boise State
Wednesday, February 23               at Fresno State
Friday, February 25                        at San José State

The non-conference schedule will be released shortly, but does offer eight more home games, bringing the home game total to 17.

Deposits for new season ticket holders are still being accepted, with fans able to lock in their seats with a $55 deposit. Fans can secure their deposits HERE or over the phone at 505-925-5626.



from WordPress https://ift.tt/3iK8w5W
via IFTTT

No comments:

Post a Comment