Mountain West Men’s Basketball Media Day Guide – Mountain West Connection - Techy Hunters

Breaking

Tuesday, October 19, 2021

Mountain West Men’s Basketball Media Day Guide – Mountain West Connection

The Mountain West Conference will hold its annual media days (virtually) on Oct. 20 and 21 ahead of the 2021-2022 season.

Preseason awards and predicted order of finish will be announced on Oct. 20.

Here are the virtual media day attendees based on the schedule they will go at media day:

Mountain West Men’s Basketball Schedule

Wednesday, Oct. 20

San Diego State: Brian Dutcher and Trey Pulliam. 10:30-11 a.m. MT/9:30-10 a.m. PT

Fresno State: Justin Hutson, Anthony Holland, and Orlando Robinson. 11 -11:30 a.m. MT/10-10:30 a.m. PT

Colorado State: Niko Medved and David Roddy 11:30 a.m.-Noon MT/10:30 a.m.-11 a.m. PT

San José State: Tim Miles and Omari Moore Noon-12:30 p.m. MT/11-11:30 a.m. PT

New Mexico: Richard Pitino and Saquan Singleton. 12:30-1 p.m. MT/11:30-Noon PT

Air Force: Joe Scott and Nikc Jackson. 1-1:30 p.m. MT/Noon-12:30 p.m. PT

Thursday, Oct. 21

Utah State: Ryan Odom and Justin Bean 12:30-1 p.m. MT/11:30-Noon PT

Boise State: Leon Rice and Abu Kigab 1-1:30 p.m. MT/Noon-12:30 p.m. PT

Nevada: Steve Alford, Grant Sherfield, and Desmond Cambridge. 1:30-2 p.m. MT/12:30-1 p.m. PT

Wyoming: Jeff Linder, Xavier DuSell, and Kenny Foster. 2-2:30 p.m. MT/1-1:30 p.m. PT

UNLV: Kevin Kruger, Bryce Hamilton, and Royce Hamm, Jr. 2:30-3 p.m. MT/1:30-2 p.m. PT

Here are a couple of storylines to keep an eye on as media days being:

Is San Diego State still the preseason favorite? The Aztecs lost their three top scorers from last year. But they return nearly everybody else, along with bringing in a few transfers. San Diego State still should be one of the favorites to win the conference, but will another team that returns its entire roster, leapfrog them as preseason conference favorites?

Does Colorado State live up to expectations? The Rams will either be first or second when the preseason predicted order of finish is released Wednesday. They just missed the NCAA Tournament and return practically their whole team, so they should be expected to finish high in the conference and compete for a Mountain West title. The question now is if they will be able to handle those expectations and get to the NCAA Tournament?

Does Nevada break through this season? There have been stretches in the Steve Alford era at Nevada where the Wolf Pack have played to their full potential. And at that full potential, they look like a conference-winning team. But, at the same time, there are moments that make you scratch your head. Now, with a couple of seasons in Alford’s system, do the Wolf Pack put all the pieces together and battle it out with the Aztecs and Rams as conference favorites?

How do the new head coaches fare? There are four teams with brand new head coaches. Three of the higher-profile conference members, New Mexico, UNLV, and Utah State all have new head coaches. The Lobos and Rebels are trying to get back to the top of the conference as contenders. And Utah State is looking to sustain the success they’ve had the last couple of seasons. Each of those three head coaches will have pressure to try to produce immediate results and win consistently. Kruger appears to be a good fit for the Runnin’ Rebels, while we will have to wait and see how Pitino and Odom fare this year.



from WordPress https://ift.tt/3G5pl4G
via IFTTT

No comments:

Post a Comment